Like all things that are beautiful, even Fontanafredda was born from a love story: the one between King Vittorio Emanuele II and the “Bela Rosin”.
The Fontanafredda estate was bought by Vittorio Emanuele II as a gift to his mistress Rosa Vercellana, also known as "La bela Rosin". Later, it was handed down to their children, Maria Vittoria and Emanuele Alberto, Count of Mirafiori and Fontanafredda.
The king bought the first vineyard of Barolo, reason for which the name “Tenimenti di Barolo e Fontanafredda” was used.
Wine-making in the cellars of Fontanafredda begins, although the first mentioning of a Barolo Fontanafredda dates back to 1867.
Count Emanuele Alberto of Mirafiori begins his adventure, with over 300 hectares (741 acres) cultivated directly by salaried, specialized workers (a unique thing at the time).
Emanuele Alberto di Mirafiori dies after having made Barolo a legend. He was the one who turned Fontanafredda into an actual village with a church and a school. He was succeeded by his second-born Gastone.
Under the leadership of Director Cav. Mollo, the business reached its maximum commercial and productive expansion, with 200 employees and over 40 families residing within the estate.
Phylloxera, a disease which afflicts the roots and plants, reached the Langhe and destroyed the vineyards.
The Great Economic Depression, which began in the U.S.A., hindered the business.
Because of the many difficulties, the estate and the cellar were sold to Monte dei Paschi di Siena Bank for 1,050,500 lire, whereas the brand was sold to the Gancia family for 100,000 lire.
After 70 years, Fontanafredda is once again in the hands of Piedmont natives.
Fontanafredda is nominated “European Winery of the Year” by the prestigious American magazine Wine Enthusiast.